Create and Manage Users

You can create vCloud Director users in OnApp. This process will add a user both to vCloud and OnApp. The user creation form is standard for OnApp, the fields that will synchronize user data with vCloud are: Login, Password, User Role, User Group, First and Last Name, and Email.

After you add a user, the change will be synchronized to vCloud Director. When you assign the vCloud Director user that you add in OnApp to an Organisation (user group), you define the resources the new user will have access to. 

If in vCD you delete a user from a user group with which several organizations from different vCDs are associated, the user will be removed but will be recreated after the synchronization. The reason is that the user exists in all organizations within one user group. If you delete such users in OnApp, they are removed from all organizations in the user group.



Create User



To add a new user:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Cloud Users menu. You'll see a list of all user accounts in your cloud.
  2. Click the Create User button at the bottom of the list.
  3. Fill in the user creation form step by step:

    Step 1 of 4

    • Move the Use Gravatar slider to the right to use the gravatar image.
    • Login - provide user login name. It can consist of 2-40 characters, letters [A-Za-z], digits [0-9], dash [ - ], lower dash [ _ ], [@]. You can use both lower- and uppercase letters. This will be the user's vCloud Director e-mail.

    • First name - specify user first name. It can consist of any 1-20 characters.
    • Last name - specify user last name. It can consist of any 1-20 characters.
      The First name and Last name comprise the user's full name in vCloud Director.
    • Email - specify user email. This will be the user's email in the vCloud Director database.
    • Time zone - select the required time zone from the drop-down box.
    • Locale - specify user locale settings by selecting the appropriate locale from the drop-down box (see Locales section for details).
    • Password - specify user password and confirm it. The password can consist of 6-40 characters and must meet the password complexity requirements. This will be the user's vCloud Director password.
    • Repeat password - repeat user password
    • Additional info - fill in a custom field, created using additional fields functionality, with corresponding information
    • Display infoboxes - move the slider to the right to display guidance infoboxes for the user.
    • Click Next.

      The vCloud Director Phone and IM fields will be left blank when the user is created via OnApp.

      The value 'unlimited' will be set automatically for the vCloud Director All VMs quota and Running VMs quota fields.

    Step 2 of 4

    • User group - assign user to the user group by selecting the required user group from the drop-down box. Assign a user to vCloud Director Organization(s). If you select several user groups the user will belong to several organizations at the same time and have access to the resources of these organizations.

    • User role - select one of the vCloud Director roles for this user. 

      OnApp supports custom user roles imported from vCloud Director. The custom role will not appear in the user creation wizard if the role does not exist in all organizations under a certain user group. Custom roles are not synchronized between the organizations in a user group, therefore, you will be required to add the same custom role in vCD for all organizations in a user group.

    • Click Next.


Step 3 of 4

    • Assign user to the bucket by selecting the required bucket from the drop-down box. 
    • Click Next.

Step 4

    • Specify Auto-suspending options if any. You can configure the system to suspend a user at a definite time or in several hours after creation.

      If you set Suspend settings for a user, the suspend action at OnApp will disable the user in vCloud Director.

  1. Click the Save button to finish.

Edit User



To edit a user account:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Cloud Users menu. You'll see a list of all user accounts in your cloud.
  2. Click the Edit icon next to the user you want to edit.
  3. Change their details as required on the screen that appears:
    • Move the Use Gravatar slider to the right to use the gravatar image.
    • Login - provide user login name. It can consist of 2-40 characters, letters [A-Za-z], digits [0-9], dash [ - ], lower dash [ _ ], [@]. You can use both lower- and uppercase letters. This will be the user's vCloud Director user name.
    • First name - specify user first name. It can consist of any 1-20 characters.
    • Last name - specify user last name. It can consist of any 1-20 characters.
      The First name and Last name comprise the user's full name in vCloud Director.
    • Email - specify user email. This will be the user's email in the vCloud Director database.
    • Time zone - select the required time zone from the drop-down box.
    • Locale - specify user locale settings by selecting the appropriate locale from the drop-down box (see Locales section for details).
    • System theme - specify the desirable theme for the user CP look and feel.By default, the global cloud settings are applied.
    • Password - specify user password and confirm it. The password can consist of 6-40 characters and must meet the password complexity requirements. This will be the user's vCloud Director password.
    • Repeat password - repeat user password
    • Display infoboxes - move the slider to the right to display guidance infoboxes for the user.
    • Bucket - select the required bucket from the drop-down box.
    • User roles - select one of the vCloud Director roles for this user.
    • User group - assign user to the user group by selecting the required user group from the drop-down box. Assign a user to vCloud Director Organization(s). If you select several user groups the user will belong to several organizations at the same time and have access to the resources of these organizations.
    • Auto suspending - edit the auto-suspending options.
  4. Click the Save button to finish.

    Pay attention to the following points regarding the vCloud Director users:

    • When you change the First or Last Name, the vCloud Director Full Name value is edited.
    • When you change the Password, the password in vCloud Director is also changed.
    • When you change the user role, the user's role in vCloud Director is also updated.
    • You cannot change the user's user group (organization).
    • If you set Suspend settings for a user, the suspend action at OnApp will disable the user in vCloud Director.
    • User without the Administrator Control permission has no ability to edit own first name, last name and email fields.

Delete User



Completely deleting a user from the system is a two-step process.

  • When you delete vCloud Director users in OnApp, they are completely erased in the vCloud Director.
  • You can delete a user but transfer the resources associated with the user to you.
  • If in vCD you delete a user from a user group with which several organizations from different vCDs are associated, the user will be removed but will be recreated after the synchronization. The reason is that the user exists in all organizations within one user group. If you delete such users in OnApp, they are removed from all organizations in the user group.

Step 1. Deleting Users

To delete a user:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Cloud Users menu. You'll see the list of all user accounts in your cloud.
  2. Click the Actions icon next to the user you want to remove and click Delete

  3. In the confirmation window, you can select the Transfer user's objects to me checkbox.
    If you don't select the checkbox, all resources associated with the user are deleted. 

  4. Click the Confirm button. 

  5. Enter your admin password and click Confirm.

To enable confirmation of the user deletion by means of a password, go to AdminSettingsConfiguration > Defaults tab and move the Enable password protection on user deleting slider to the right. Otherwise, the password protection will be disabled by default.

After the deletion, the resources associated with the user are transferred to you if you selected the Transfer user's objects to me checkbox. If you don't select the checkbox, all the user resources are deleted except for recipes. Recipes that run on other user's resources are not deleted after their owners are removed. These recipes can be accessed via Recipes > Unowned Recipes menu. The user with global permissions can become an owner of any of the unowned recipes by choosing Actions > Become an owner.