Create and Manage Roles

OnApp allows you to assign roles to users. Each role has a set of permissions associated with it. By assigning users to different roles you can control what those users are allowed to do. This section contains information on actions you can perform with the role which are Create, Edit, Delete, and Clone.

Create New Role


To add a new role:

  1. Go to Control Panel > Roles.
  2. Press the "+" button or click the Create Role button at the bottom of the screen.
  3. On the screen that follows, give the role a name (label) and use the radio buttons to set its permissions.
  4. Based on default role - move the slider to the right to create the role based on one of the default roles.
    • Role based on - select the Administrator or User option from the dropbox 
  5. Click the Save button to finish.

On the Add New Role screen there are also buttons to give full access to the role (this automatically checks all relevant boxes to allow that role to perform any action) and to deselect all permissions, if you want to start from scratch.

Make sure to enable either the Select resources manually on virtual server creation or the Select instance package on virtual server creation permission, or both if required. If the user does not have any of these permissions enabled, they will not be able to create virtual servers.

Edit Role



To edit a role:

  1. Go to Control Panel Roles.
  2. You'll see a list of all roles on your system and a number of users assigned to each role.
  3. Click the Actions button next to the role you want to change, then click Edit.
  4. On the screen that appears, change the role's description and permissions, then click the Save button.

Clone Role



You can copy the role with all its permissions in OnApp. To clone a role:

  1. Go to Control Panel Roles.
  2. You'll see a list of all roles in your system and a number of users assigned to each role.
  3. Click the Actions button next to the role you want to change, then click Clone. 

Now the role is copied with the name of the original role proceeded with the date and time suffix.

To change the role's name or the set of permissions, edit its details:

  1. Go to Control Panel Roles.
  2. You'll see a list of all roles in your system and a number of users assigned to each role.
  3. On the screen that appears, click the Edit (pencil) icon.
  4. Change the permissions and role's label if required.
  5. Click Save to apply the changes.

To clone a default role to a new user, go to Control Panel > Roles >Templates Role tab. Clicking on the label of a role, you will see the template role details and the assigned permissions.

Delete Role


To delete a role:

  1. Go to Control Panel Roles.
  2. You'll see a list of all roles in your system.
  3. Click the Actions button next to the role you want to delete, then click Delete. You'll be asked for confirmation before the role is removed.