Manage Groups

You can assign users to different user groups, so you can tie some users together and offer similar cloud experiences. At present, you can configure the following for user groups:

  • assign a UI theme to specific user groups (AdminSettings > Look&Feel)
  • set the default roles
  • specify buckets

User groups are also used for configuring restrictions sets to correctly set up the reseller role. These can limit the resources available to a user based on either the user's bucket or the user group.

The following actions are available in OnApp for user groups:

View User Group


To view user groups:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Admin > Groups menu.
  2. Click a group's label to see all the roles and buckets assigned to the questioned group.
  3. Click the number of users to see the list of users assigned to this user group.


Create User Group



The Create Group page allows a user to create an OnApp user group.

To create a user group:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Admin > Groups menu.
  2. On the page that follows, click Create Group button.
  3. On the next page, fill in the user group details: 
    • label - choose a name for the user group

The following parameters affect Restrictions Sets only:

    • roles - assign role(s) which will be available to resellers with the appropriate restrictions set
    • buckets - assign bucket(s) which will be available to resellers with the appropriate restrictions set

     5. Click Save.


Edit User Group



The Edit Group page allows a user to edit an OnApp user group.

To edit a user group:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Admin > Groups menu.
  2. Click the Actions button next to the user group you want to change, then click Edit
    Alternatively, you can click the user group's label and on the screen that appears, click the Edit (pencil) icon.
  3. Edit the user group details:
    • label - choose a name for the user group

The following parameters affect restrictions sets configuration only:

    • roles - assign role(s) which will be available to resellers with the appropriate restrictions set
    • buckets - assign bucket(s) which will be available to resellers with the appropriate restrictions set

    5. Click Save.


Assign New User to Group



You can do this on the Add New User screen, as part of the user creation process:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Admin > Users menu.
  2. Click the Create User button.
  3. In the Roles & Groups section, select the User Group from the drop-down menu.
  4. Complete the other user detail fields, and click Save.


Change User Group for User



You can change the group a user is assigned to on the Edit User screen:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Admin > Users menu.
  2. Click the Actions icon next to the user, then click Edit.
  3. Select a user group for the user from the user group drop-down menu.
  4. Click the Save button.


Delete User Group



To delete a user group:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Admin > Groups menu.
  2. Click Delete in the Actions list next to a user group/organization to delete a specific group.