Create and Manage Buckets

OnApp buckets manage access to cloud infrastructure as well as allow you to set prices for the resources allocated to a user. In this document, you can find information on how to create and manage buckets. 


Create Bucket



To create a bucket:

  1. Go to your Control Panel's Buckets menu.
  2. On the screen that appears, click the + button or click New Bucket at the bottom of the screen.
  3. Complete the form on the screen that appears:

    • Label – enter a name for the bucket
    • Monthly price – set a monthly price for the bucket. This price will be applied regardless of the actual prices for used resources.

      Be aware that the maximum value that you can set is 1013.

    • Currency - set a currency to charge in

4. Specify Windows licensing support settings:

    • Tick the Allows mak box to enable MAK licensing for a user signed up for this bucket
    • Tick the Allows kms box to allow using KMS service
    • Choose Allows own to permit inserting custom licenses

5. Click Save to finish.

When the bucket is created, its Access control and Rate card are empty. That means that no resources are available under that bucket, and the prices are not configured. Click the bucket lable to configure resource allocation and pricing.


Assign Users to Bucket



You can assign a bucket to an individual user while creating or editing a user profile.

To assign a bucket to a new user:

  1. Go to the Control Panel > Users menu. The page that loads shows all the users in your cloud.
  2. Click the + icon or the Create User button. You will be forwarded to the first step of the user creation wizard. 
  3. Fill in the login, first and last name, email and password for the new user and click Next.
  4. At the second step of the user creation process select the user group and one or several roles for the user from the drop-down lists. Click Next to proceed.
  5. Select the bucket under which the user will be billed. Click Next to proceed to the final step of the user creation process.
  6. Set the auto suspending options if required and click Save to create the user. The new user will be able to log into OnApp with the credentials you have specified during creation and will be billed according to the bucket you have selected.


To assign a bucket to an existing user:


  1. Go to the Control Panel > Users menu. The page that loads shows all the users in your cloud.

  2. Click the Actions icon next to the user to which you want to assign a bucket.

  3. To assign a certain bucket to a user, select the required bucket from the drop-down list in the Buckets field. On this page, you can also change other details of the user account, e.g., login, email, password, etc.

  4. Click Save to change the details of the user profile. After this process the user will be billed according to the bucket you have selected.

When a user is reassigned to a new bucket all statistics as well as the user's VS prices are recalculated depending on whether CPU units are enabled in the new bucket.

Assign User Groups to Bucket



You can assign a bucket to a user group while creating or editing a group.

The total number of Virtual Servers created by all users in the group cannot exceed the Virtual Servers limit set in the bucket for that user group. The exact number of VSs that can be allocated to each user in the group is not predefined in the group's bucket. Therefore, when one group member uses, for example, half of the group's bucket VS limit, the remaining amount of VSs is left for the rest of users in the group. To provide the exact number of VSs to specific users, you need to specify the VS limit in the individual buckets. If the VS bucket limit is reached, users will not be able to create new virtual servers. Currently, such behavior is implemented only for the Virtual Servers functionality.

To assign a bucket to a new user group:

  1. Go to the Control Panel > User Groups menu. The page that loads shows all the user groups in your cloud.
  2. Click the + icon or the Create Group button.
  3. At the Add a New User Group page, fill in the user group details: 
    • Label - type a name for the user group
    • Buckets - select a bucket for the user group
    • Roles - assign role(s) that come with the appropriate Permissions set
    • User Buckets - specify the list of buckets that will be available for assignment to users within this user group. This parameter relates to restriction sets only. 
  4. Click Save to create the user group. Users assigned to this group will be charged according to the bucket you have selected.

To assign a bucket to an existing user group:

  1. Go to the Control Panel > User Groups menu. The page that loads shows all the user groups in your cloud.
  2. Click the Actions icon next to the target user group and click the Edit button.
  3. To assign a certain bucket to a user group, select the required bucket from the drop-down list in the Buckets field. On this page, you can also change other details of the user group, e.g., label, roles, etc. 
  4. Click Save to change the details of the user group. As a result, users assigned to this user group will be charged according to the bucket you have selected.


View List of Users Assigned to Bucket



You can view the list of users assigned to a bucket from the buckets list page.

To view the list of users assigned to a bucket:

  1. Go to Control Panel > Buckets. The page that loads lists all the buckets in your cloud.
  2. In the Associated with users column click the number next to the bucket you are interested in. This number indicates how many active users are associated with this bucket. You will be forwarded to the list of users to whom the bucket is assigned. The users which have been deleted or deactivated are not shown at this list.
  3. Click the user’s Full Name to view the account details or click the Actions icon next to the user to edit, delete or perform other action related to this user.


Edit Bucket



To edit a bucket:

  1. Go to your Control Panel's Buckets menu.
  2. Click the Actions button next to the required bucket and then click Edit.
  3. Change the required settings and click the Save button.
Editing a bucket that is associated with more than one user will affect all users attached to it. If you want to affect only a particular user, copy the bucket, assing it to this user and then edit the bucket.

Copy Bucket



To copy a bucket:

  1. Go to your Control Panel's Buckets menu. The screen that appears will show all the buckets currently set up on the cloud.
  2. Click the Actions icon next to a required bucket, then click Copy.
  3. You will be forwarded to the Access Control section of the copied version of the original bucket. The copy will be displayed in the bucket's list at Control Panel > Buckets with a label consisting of ‘Bucket clone of’ and the name of the original bucket, e.g. ‘Bucket Clone of Test.Bucket’.

Delete Bucket



To delete a bucket:

  1. Go to your Control Panel's Buckets menu. The screen that appears will show all the buckets currently set up in the cloud.
  2. Click the Delete icon next to a bucket to remove it from the system. You'll be asked for confirmation before the bucket is removed.
Deleting a bucket that is associated with more than one user will affect all users attached to it. If you want to delete or change the bucket for a particular user, go to the Users menu and edit the bucket in the user profile.