Manage Databases

Starting with OnApp 5.0 version, you can create and manage databases available for your Application Server.

Ensure that See all application servers or See own application servers permission is on before managing databases. For more information about permissions refer to the List of all OnApp Permissions section of this guide.


View Databases and Database Users



If you want to see the list of databases available for your Application Server, you can view it at OnApp Control Panel.

To view a database list:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Cloud > Application Servers menu.
  2. Click the label of the server you're interested in.
  3. Click the Applications tab > Databases.
  4. On the screen that appears, you will get the list of databases together with their: 
    • Database name - the name of a database
    • Users - the names of users, assigned to the database
    • Actions icon- the actions you can perform with the database ( Privileges, Remove).

To view the list of database users:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Cloud > Application Servers menu.
  2. Click the label of the server you're interested in.
  3. Click the Applications tab > Databases.
  4. Click the Database Users tab.
  5. On the screen that appears, you will get the list of database users together with their: 
    • User name - the name of a user
    • Actions icon - the actions you can perform with the database users ( Change password, Remove).

Create Database



You can create database available for your Application Server.

To create a database:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Cloud > Application Servers menu.
  2. Click the label of the server you're interested in.
  3. Click the Applications tab > Databases.
  4. On the screen that appears, press "+" button.
  5. Complete the creation form:
    • Database name - specify database name
  6. Click the Submit button.

Create and Manage Database Users



You should create a user, who will be able to manage a database.

To create a database user:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Cloud > Application Servers menu.
  2. Click the label of the server you're interested in.
  3. Click the Applications tab > Databases.
  4. On the screen that appears, click the Database Users tab and  press "+" button.
  5. Complete the creation form:
    • Name - specify database user's name. The length of the name should not exceed 11 characters.
    • Password - specify password for the database user
  6. Click the Submit button.

You can also change database user password or delete database user.

To change database user password:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Cloud > Application Servers menu.
  2. Click the label of the server you're interested in.
  3. Click the Applications tab > Databases.
  4. On the screen that appears, click the Database Users tab.
  5. Click the Actions icon next to the specific database user and click Change password.
  6. Enter new password  and click the Submit button.

To delete database user:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Cloud > Application Servers menu.
  2. Click the label of the server you're interested in.
  3. Click the Applications tab > Databases.
  4. On the screen that appears, click the Database Users tab.
  5. Click the Actions icon next to the specific database user and click Remove.
  6. Confirm deletion by clicking the Remove button.

Assign User and Set Privileges for Database



After user creation you should assign the user to a database and set privileges (permissions) for the database. For example, the assigned user can create temporary tables, execute, drop, lock tables in the database.

To assign a user and set privileges for a database:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Cloud > Application Servers menu.
  2. Click the label of the server you're interested in.
  3. Click the Applications tab > Databases.
  4. Click the Actions icon > Privileges next to the database you're interested in.
  5. Click the "+" button to assign a user to the database. On the screen that appears, set the following:
    • User - chose the user from the drop-down list. 
    • Privileges - tick the checkbox next to a privilege which you want to assign to the user. Tick the checkbox "All" if you want to chose all privileges.
    • Host - chose a host ( local host or any host) from the drop-down list. I You can also chose "Use text field" and specify the host name in a blank field.
  6. Click the Submit button.

Edit Users Assigned to Database



If you want to change a set of privileges, given to a specific user, you can edit it.

To change privileges of a user, assigned to a database:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Cloud > Application Servers menu.
  2. Click the label of the server you're interested in.
  3. Click the Applications tab > Databases.
  4. Click the Actions icon > Privileges next to the database you're interested in. You will get a list of users, assigned to this database.
  5. Click the Actions icon> Change Privileges next to the user you're interested in. 
  6. Tick the checkbox next to a privilege which you want to assign to the user. Tick the checkbox "All" if you want to chose all privileges.
  7. Click the Submit button.

If you do not want a specific user to manage a database, you can unassign user from the database.

To unassign user from a database:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Cloud > Application Servers menu.
  2. Click the label of the server you're interested in.
  3. Click the Applications tab > Databases.
  4. Click the Actions icon > Privileges next to the database you're interested in. You will get a list of users, assigned to this database.
  5. Click the Actions icon > Unassign next to the user you're interested in. 
  6. Confirm unassignment by clicking the Remove button.

Remove Database



If there is no need to use a specific database anymore, you can delete it.

To delete a database:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Cloud > Application Servers menu.
  2. Click the label of the server you're interested in.
  3. Click the Applications tab > Databases.
  4. Click the Actions icon > Remove next to the database you're interested in.
  5. Confirm deletion by clicking the Remove button.