Manage Acceleration Settings

If you have accelerated virtual servers, the Acceleration tab is available to you. At this tab, you can view accelerated virtual server statistics, blacklist domains and remove cache content. The functionality is available for accelerated virtual servers and smart servers.

Accelerated Virtual Server Statistics



This section provides the information on how you can view bandwidth statistics and cache utilization statistics of accelerate-enabled virtual server.

Ensure that Accelerate any Virtual Server/Accelerate own Virtual Servers permissions are on before managing accelerated VS statistics. For more information about permissions refer to the List of all OnApp Permissions section of this guide.


To see the bandwidth and cache utilization statistics:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Cloud > Virtual Servers menu.
  2. Click the label of the accelerate-enabled virtual server you're interested in.

  3. Click the Acceleration tab > Reporting.
  4. On the screen that appears, specify the period in the From and To fields and click the Apply button. The default period is the last week.
  5. The first chart shows bandwidth statistics: the total/cached/non-cached statistics. The second chart shows cache utilization statistics: the number of pages cached on the Edge (hits) as well as the number of misses - the pages which are not cached.
  6. To zoom into a time period, click and drag in a chart. Click the Reset Zoom button to zoom out again.


Blacklist Domains



Blacklisting domains allows you to block a number of websites from being accelerated. This feature enables blacklisted websites to load from Origin again, while other websites hosted on the same VS remain accelerated.

To blacklist a domain, do the following:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Cloud > Virtual Servers menu.
  2. Click the label of the accelerate-enabled virtual server you're interested in.

  3. Click the Acceleration tab > Blacklist domains.
  4. Fill in the domains you want to blacklist.
  5. Click the Save button.

Now when domains of choice are blacklisted, all the requests will be forwarded to origin directly and the response header will bypass Accelerator without any additional optimization.


Purge Content



This tool allows instant removal of cache content for the accelerated virtual servers. You can purge all content or one/several files. In cases when you want to purge one or several files, the system will compare the checksum of the cached file and the new one. The cached file will only be purged if the checksums vary, that is, the files are different. If the checksum of the two files is the same, the cached file will not be purged. When you purge all content, the checksums of the cached and new files are not taken into account.

Limitations and prerequisites:

  • This tool applies only to virtual servers with acceleration enabled.
  • You need to have CDN enabled for the cloud to use the purge feature.
  • You need to have the Allow to purge content of all Virtual Servers or the Allow to purge content of Own Virtual Servers permission enabled to use this feature. For more information refer to List of all OnApp Permissions.
  • If several customers accelerate their VSs using one Accelerator, they can purge each other's files, provided that they enter the correct URL.


To purge a single file:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Cloud > Virtual Servers menu.
  2. Click the label of the accelerate-enabled virtual server you're interested in.

  3. Click the Acceleration tab > Purge.
  4. In the input field, specify the path(s). You may indicate only one path per line. You can fill in either the original URL, the one prior to acceleration or the accelerated URL.
  5. Click the Submit button to finish.


To purge all content:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Cloud > Virtual Servers menu.
  2. Click the label of the accelerate-enabled virtual server you're interested in.

  3. Click the Acceleration tab > Purge.
  4. Click the Purge All Contents of this Site button to purge all content.