You can assign users to different user groups. So you can tie some users together and offer similar cloud experiences. At present, you can configure the following for user groups:

  • Assign a UI theme to specific user groups (AdminSettings > Look&Feel)
  • Set the default roles
  • Specify buckets

The following actions are available in OnApp for user groups:


Create User Group

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Admin > Groups menu.
  2. On the page that follows, click or the Create Group button.
  3. On the next page, fill in the user group details: 
    • Label - choose a name for the user group
    • Buckets - select a bucket in the drop-down list that the users within this user group will use
    • Assign vCloud Roles - move the slider to the right to assign vCloud roles
    • Roles - assign roles to the users within this user group
    • User Buckets - specify the list of buckets available for assignment to the users within this user group. This parameter relates to restriction sets only.

       4. Click Save.


Edit User Group

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Admin > Groups menu.
  2. Click the Actions button next to the user group you want to change, then select Edit. Alternatively, you can click the user group's label, and on the screen that appears, click .
  3. Edit the user group details:
    • Label - edit the name of the user group
    • Buckets - select a bucket in the drop-down list that the users within this user group will use
    • Assign vCloud Roles - move the slider to the right to assign vCloud roles
    • Roles - assign roles to the users within this user group
    • User Buckets - specify the list of buckets available for assignment to the users within this user group. This parameter relates to restriction sets only.

      4. Click Save.


Assign New User to Group

You can do this on the Add a New User page as part of the user creation process:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Admin > Users menu.
  2. Click or the Create User button.
  3. In the Roles & Groups section, select the needed user group from the drop-down list.
  4. Complete the other user detail fields, and click Save.

Change User Group for User

You can change the group a user is assigned to on the Edit User screen:

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Admin > Users menu.
  2. Click the Actions button next to the user, then select Edit.
  3. Select a user group for the user from the user group drop-down list.
  4. Click the Save button.

Delete User Group

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Admin > Groups menu.
  2. Click the Actions button next to the user group/organization you want to delete and select Delete. 

Leave feedback