The association between a compute resource and a backup server is called a backup server join. It enables the use of a backup server for storing the backups of virtual servers hosted on the compute resource.

If a compute resource lacks such a backup server join, the backups will be created on the compute resource hosting the virtual server. To prevent creating both manual and auto-backups on compute resources, set the Max limit in the Miscellaneous section to 0.

Ensure that the Update any compute resource permission is on before managing compute resource backup servers. For more information about permissions, refer to the Permissions section of this guide.




View Compute Resource Backup Servers

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Admin > Settings menu.
  2. Click the Compute Resources icon.
  3. Click the label of a compute resource.
  4. On the page that appears, click the Tools button and select Manage Backup Servers.
  5. On the following page, you'll see a list of all backup servers associated with this compute resource and their details:
    • Label - the name of the backup server
    IP Address -  the IP Address of the backup server
    Enabled -  whether backup server is enabled or not


Add Backup Server Join

You can add backup servers to a compute resource only if they are assigned to zones of the same type. For more information, refer to Zone Types.

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Admin > Settings menu.
  2. Click the Compute Resources icon.
  3. Click the label of the compute resource you want to manage backup servers for.
  4. On the page that appears, click the Tools button and select Manage Backup Servers.
  5. On the following page, in the Add Backup Servers section, fill in the following field:
    • Backup Server – select the required backup server from the drop-down list
  6. Click Add Backup Server.


Remove Backup Server Join

  1. Go to your Control Panel > Admin > Settings menu.
  2. Click the Compute Resources icon.
  3. Click the label of the compute resource you want to manage backup servers for.
  4. On the page that appears, click the Tools button and select Manage Backup Servers.
  5. On the following page, click  next to the backup server join you want to remove.
  6. You will be asked for confirmation before the backup server is removed.


See also: