Purge Content

This action is available only for accelerated virtual servers.

This tool allows instant removal of cache content for the accelerated virtual servers. You can purge all content or one/several files. In cases when you want to purge one or several files, the system will compare the checksum of the cached file and the new one. The cached file will only be purged if the checksums vary, that is, the files are different. If the checksum of the two files are the same, the cached file will not be purged. When you purge all content, the checksums of the cached and new files is not taken into account.

Limitations and prerequisites:

  • This tool applies only to virtual servers with acceleration enabled.
  • You need to have CDN enabled for the cloud to use the purge feature.
  • You need have the Allow to purge content of all Virtual Servers or the Allow to purge content of Own Virtual Servers permission enabled to use this feature. For more information refer to List of all OnApp Permissions.
  • If several customers accelerate their VSs using one Accelerator, they can purge each other's files, provided that they enter the correct URL.


To purge a single file:

  1. Go to Control Panel > Virtual Servers.
  2. Click the label of the required virtual server.
  3. On the page that appears, click the Purge tab.
  4. In the input field, specify the path(s). You may indicate only one path per line. You can fill in either the original URL, the one prior to acceleration or the accelerated URL.
  5. Click the Submit button to finish.

To purge all content:

  1. Go to Control Panel > Virtual Servers.
  2. Click the label of the required virtual server
  3. On the page that appears, click the Purge tab.
  4. Click the Purge All Contents of this Site button to purge all content.